Good Muse – Bad Muse

bad-muse.jpg

good-muse.jpg

My “Bad Muse” is a frightening character from an Alfred Hitchcock movie.  Not “Pyscho” or “The Birds” – but Daphne Du Maurier’s “Rebecca” (1940).  Not Joan Fontaine’s character, but Dame Judith Anderson’s portrayal of Mrs. Danvers, the cold, cruel, critical, obsessive, severe, strict housekeeper, who reminds the second Mrs. De Winter’s she will never be good enough, no matter how hard she tries.

My “Good Muse” is a TV character from a 1960’s American sit-com.  Then, when most girls my age were asked what they wanted to be when they grew up, they would say, “A mother – a teacher – a nurse – a ballerina.”  They wanted to be like Lucy on “I Love Lucy”, or even Samantha on “Bewitched”.  Not me.  I had a different TV hero, from a different program.  I wanted to be part of the “Dick Van Dyke” show.  Not Laura Petri, even though my last name was the same as Mary Tyler Moore.  I didn’t want to be a whiny housewife.  Oh, no.  I wanted to be in the back office, writing comedy sketches with Buddy and Sally.  In fact, I wanted to be Morey Amsterdam – because he made everyone laugh, and everyone liked him, and what could be better than having a job where you got paid to write jokes? 

3 Responses to “Good Muse – Bad Muse”

  1. lorigloyd Says:

    LOL! Morey Amsterdam! I didn’t see that one coming. What a wonderful role model and muse. (Can I guy be a muse?).

  2. jodhiay Says:

    I think “muse” should be an equal opportunity sort of job. 🙂

    I like the concept of good muse/bad muse. I’ll have to think of what mine might be…

  3. Heather Blakey Says:

    Now maybe I will have Don whatever his name is from Get Smart. Darryl and I loved that show.

Leave a Reply

