My Gay Fantasy

rainbow

Human Rights Campaign logo

In my gay fantasy, I walk down the street with my partner and we do not have to fear having our heads bashed in by homophobes.

In my gay fantasy, no one calls us  names, snickers, sneers at, or slanders us, just because we are a little different. 

In my gay fantasy, I can legally marry my partner of several years.  We can receive the same tax benefits straight couples take for granted.  We would feel welcomed at church and in other community groups.  Our families would love us just the way we are.

In my gay fantasy, we would not feel obligated to “pass as straight” on some jobs – doing our work well would be sufficient.

In my gay fantasy,  I am treated the same as everyone else.  I am judged “by the content of my character”, not by what I choose to do in the privacy of my own home.

In my gay fantasy, no one fears, shuns, rejects, shames, or hates me.  I may be different, but I am equal.

In my gay fantasy, “family values” includes all people.  Everyone would have access to the same human rights.  Queers, lesbians, bi-sexuals, transgendered persons, and people living with HIV-AIDS would all be respected equally and given a fair chance.

…But I am gay, and this is only a fantasy, that I dream will come true someday…Until then, I do what I can to make my world a better place for everyone…

Signed – Your son or daughter, mom or dad, brother or sister, friend, co-worker, teacher, fellow student, nurse, attorney, firefighter, mail carrier, favorite artist, writer, musican, actor, etc.

by Kerry Vincent (c) 1997

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “My Gay Fantasy”

  1. kredhead Says:

    Wow! this moves me, I hope your dream becomes a reality for you and for anyone with the same dream soon. It shames me that you have to live you life in such a world and breaks my heart that I live there to.

    God bless and give you strength to hold your head high
    love kred xx

  2. gaytheistic Says:

    Written 11 years ago, there are now many places where this is not only possible, but common. Come to New England and enjoy the fantasy.

  3. kvwordsmith Says:

    Agreed, things are getting better, but we’ve still got a long way to go!

  4. Gail Says:

    hang in there, Kez, the more we dream together for a better world, the better chance it has of coming true.

  5. woodnymph Says:

    BRAVO!

Leave a Reply

