April 28 – Glass Class

glass frame

Again – art saves the day!

See something you like at a gallery?  If you can afford it – buy it – you never regret purchasing art!

I found the card that is framed in glass above at the Jacoby Arts Center last fall.  I didn’t know what I’d do with it – I just liked it, and, honestly, it was a bit of a “guilt purchase” – I try to support the arts locally when I can, I had just seen a free gallery show – and a card was all I could afford that day.

These several months later, one of my co-workers announced she is leaving to pursue her dream of a career in nursing.  I remembered the card – and thought it would be perfect for someone going into the “helping hands” profession.  So I made a stained glass frame for it – and I have a one-of-a-kind gift ready to share.

Often I don’t buy paintings I like because “I have no place to put it” – my walls are already crowded.    But being able to give it away, or merge it with another art form (like my stained glass frames) – gives me an excuse to listen to my heart & artist’s spirit – and support a local gallery/artist – and give something memorable – all rolled into one!  Again, art saves the day!

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “April 28 – Glass Class”

  1. Stacey-Ann Says:

    Thanks for sharing this nice little story with us as it’s really inspiring.

  2. shewolfy728 Says:

    That’s really cool, Kerry!

  3. woodnymph Says:

    Always, if it calls to you, buy it. And if you have no room on your walls like me, rotate. That’s what I do and it works.

    Vi

  4. Jill Says:

    Oooh I agree, always trust instinct if you are called to something. What a fabulous card it is and I am loving the frames you make.

  5. porchsitter Says:

    Generous once, generous twice, for art and friendship. That’s making a little something go a long way!

Leave a Reply

