letting go

 

Shall I continue to top off

My tall water glass of sadness?

Or wave the waiter on,

Saying, “No, thanks, I’m fine.”

 

Shall I hold my bitterness tight,

Clenched like a handful of sand?

Or open my palm and let it go,

Let it become one with the wind?

 

Shall I clutch my memories to me,

Like a sad corsage turning brown?

Or send my thoughts off like scouts,

Looking for new adventures?

 

Shall I take my chances like Icarus,

Flying too close to the sun?

Or maybe I’ll burn like a phoenix on fire,

And rise again from my ashes?

Leave a Reply

