Rage

I rage like a rising river

Bursting my banks

Flooding my plains

Not to be contained.

 

I rage like a cancer

Infecting a body

Wasting tissues

Destroying cells.

 

I rage like a farmer

When my crop is ruined.

I can’t feed my children –

Helpless, hungry, prayers unheard –

 

I seek a bullet to make piece.

 

Kerry Vincent © 1993 (When the Mississippi River was flooding)

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Rage”

  1. espirit07 Says:

    Did you have this published locally in ’93? Are you familiar with the Route 66 Festival in October? They are seeking artists for an artists tent with the deadline of June 24th. http://www.confluencegreenway.org — perhaps this could b e nice venue for your talents.

Leave a Reply

