Poetry: Duct Tape of the Soul

Poetry: Duct Tape of the Soul

Good poems are like a full roll of duct tape –
Sturdy, strong, hardworking, flexible, resistant to tearing.
Good poems, like duct tape,
Take two or more different thoughts
And stick them together good and tight,
So that the ideas touch and meet and face each other,
A durable, long-lasting union, hard to pull apart.
Good poems, like duct tape,
Should be unrolled slowly, carefully,
Not twisted or twirled or dropped.
Goods poems, like duct tape,
Can save the world!
…Well, almost…
But I’m not too worried about Armageddon –
I’ve got my pens, my journals, and good poems,
— The sticky duct tape of my soul —
To put me back together again if I fall apart.

By Kerry Vincent © 2010

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Poetry: Duct Tape of the Soul”

  1. Mark Traphagen Says:

    I love this! It so expresses the way I feel about poetry.

    I’m a co-administrator of a Facebook page for the novel The Secret Life of Emily Dickinson (which, by the way, i think you’d enjoy). We honor and discuss there not only ED’s poetry, but poetry wherever it may be found. I was wondering if you would give me permission to reprint this poem (with a link back to this site) on our page?

  2. kvwordsmith Says:

    But of course! reprint, link, whatever – poems are meant to be shared!
    Kerry

  3. theknittingjourneyman Says:

    This is just terrific. 😉
    I love it.

  4. Thalia Says:

    yes, yes! poetry duct tape – heals all. So glad to see that you are still writting and sharing. I have been away from the computer for a while so have been seeing what has been happening with people. But word and art creativity have continued to be my duct tape. Great image.

Leave a Reply

