My Daily Bread

10/11/12

by Kerry Ellen

 

I need to tear off a hunk of quiet

And feed my blistering soul.

Rip off some time to just be

Like breaking a baguette

Eating my pain – pan – just the “I” difference…

So much disappointment

Like waves of nausea

Only settled by meeting basic needs

Bread – my favorite comfort food…

I wish for some of that wonderful orange fennel sea salt bread from Hampton Bakery

Another want ungranted.

Still licking my wounds

And blinking back tears

Filling a hall with my sighs

Not yet really letting go

Just allowing the dreams to drift away

Like ghosts muttering of lies

Lost love, life unrequited.

A snap in the air and I hear the rustling as again

I sweep my hopes to the side

Like colored autumn leaves

Beautiful but fallen

Dry but not quite dead.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “My Daily Bread”

  1. A Says:

    I really like your poem Kerry. My husband has started giving me a hard time whenever I eat bread, even a whole grain tortilla, and I really don’t appreciate it. I cried twice last night. Once for real and once in a dream. I mean I had to come out to the living room so he wouldn’t hear me. I couldn’t even breathe. I am sorry for you sadness. I can relate. I hope you have some good friends. Love comes in many forms. At least for women, it’s about being connected and not isolated. At least that’s what this book I’m reading is telling me. It’s called how to improve your marriage without talking about it. It’s got some great insights on the differences between men & women. Happy Thanksgiving friend…

Leave a Reply

